Grad School Begins!

I’ve almost finished my first week of grad school, so I suppose it’s time that I update my blog about being a student!

I graduated NSULA on August 14th, 2009 and started graduate school 10 days later on the 24th. Suffice to say that the amount of headache that comes with having to organize these two events so close together would give anyone a migraine. I opted to not walk/participate in the ceremony because I thought adding another thing to do to my already growing and quickly-approaching “things to do list” would make me explode. That’s not to say that I cheated my family out of the privilege of watching me walk and receive my diploma though–that will come in December.

Fast-forward to this week. After getting signed up for classes on the first day…I attended my graduate/research assistantship meeting in my new home away from home: the NSU Cultural Resource Office or CRO lab for short. A little bit of background! CRO was founded by Dr. Tommy Ike Hailey in 1996 as a materials and artifact conservation lab but has since then morphed into a specialized cultural resource management center that opts for the broad, sweeping approach to heritage resources.

On Tuesday I attended my very first graduate class by Dr. Susan Dollar called “Writing the Past”. As far as I can tell it’s a technical writing class that will teach us to become better and more effective writers. As I think about the people who will potentially read this blog I have no doubt that you will appreciate this class as much as I will! The class seemed great and Dr. Dollar is a fun professor. The next class is Dr. Julie Ernstein’s “Heritage Resource Management” class, which consists of the laws and regulations that have shaped cultural and heritage resource management over the last 200 some-odd years. I’ve been knowing Dr. Ernstein the longest of any of the faculty of the program and the class that I took this summer with her is the little brother to this graduate class, so I’m more than prepared for it in spades.

My next round of classes came today on Thursday. I had Dr. Dollar’s class again and what will eventually be Dr. ElizaBeth Guin’s Heritage Resource Methods class. Dr. Guin couldn’t make it to class this week, due to a family emergency so Dr. Hailey stepped in and taught us all how to use UTM 7.5′ topoquad maps. I like maps. I really, really like maps. Did I mention that I liked maps, because I like maps a lot.

Anyway, my goal with this blog will be to keep any and all that are interested in the grad-school experience apprised of my goings and comings. I promise, once we start shooting lasers and microwaves at buildings and satellites, things will get a little more interesting.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://diggingjoeevans.wordpress.com/2009/08/28/grad-school-begins/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

