Weeks 8-9 7/26-7/30 & 8/2-8/6

Hello all,

I’ve been hunkered down in the I&E Lab at SEAC for these past few weeks. The budget year is coming to an end soon, so it’s crunch time. Everyone is pitching in and helping each other get their various reports done. To that end, I’ve been helping on a variety of reports, the biggest of which is the Shiloh Mounds report.

I’m also happy to report (eh…maybe pun intended) that I’ve completed my tasks on the Shiloh Mounds report.

For the rest of week 8 and for most of last week I helped archaeologist Guy Prentice with a few of his projects. It seems about 25 years ago someone said it would be foolish to take color pictures of archaeological sites and profiles because black and white was where it’s at.  Yet, Guy did it anyway. He and a colleague were conducting archaeological inspections at Mammoth Cave National Park following up on some known sites and finding new ones. My task in helping him was to digitize this colored Kodachrome slides. I’m not going to say this was the most exciting or stimulating part of my internship, but I do realize that documentation is the most important aspect of archaeology and this is as good as it gets.

After my stint with the slide digitizer, I filled out some photo logs and Drew had me begin my work on the Cumberland Island collection. Back to artifacts, folks.

 

Published in: on August 7, 2010 at 3:02 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://diggingjoeevans.wordpress.com/2010/08/07/weeks-8-9-726-730-82-86/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

